The Official Selection of the Festival de Cannes at the Oscars 2022

The Academy Awards nominations were announced this Tuesday, February 8th in Los Angeles. The Festival de Cannes is delighted to see the films of the Official Selection, represented in 7 categories: Best Original Screenplay, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best International Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature, Best Animated Feature, Best Directing, and Best Picture.

The film Drive my Car by Ryusūke Hamaguchi, selected in competition and named Best Screenplay by Spike Lee’s Jury in 2021, gathers 4 nominations in the Best Adapted Screenplay, Best International Feature films categories and in the prestigious Best Picture category, asParasite by Bong Joon-ho, Palme d’or in 2019. The Japanese director is also nominated for the Best Directing and will be alongside the filmmakers Paul Thomas Anderson, Kenneth Branagh, Jane Campion and Steven Spielberg.

As for Flee, by the Danish director Jonas Poher Rasmussen, it runs in no less than 3 categories including Best Documentary Feature, Best Animated Feature and Best International Feature Film. The film was among the Cannes selection in 2020.

The worst person in the World by Joachim Trier, selected in competition in 2021 and awarded for Best Actress for Renate Reinsve, is nominated in the Best Original Screenplay and Best International Feature Film category.

The films of the Official Selection collect 9 nominations in total and represent 3 out of 5 films in the Best International Feature Film category that rewards the work of filmmakers coming from around the world. The success of these films on the US market is proof of the strength of international cinema.

Moreover, the Festival de Cannes congratulates Maggie Gyllenhaal, jury member of the 74th edition in July 2021, for the nominations of her first feature film The Lost Daughter.

The Festival especially congratulates, for the 12 nominations of The Power of the Dog, Jane Campion, the first woman director receiving the Palme d’or (The Piano, 1993) that made history a second time by becoming the first woman filmmaker president of the Jury in 2014.

We wish them a well-deserved success during the 94th Academy Awards ceremony that will be held in Los Angeles Sunday, March 27th.

For more info:

Author Eleanor Belson